Alverno Student-Athletes Honored At Athletics Awards Program

2016-17 Awards

MILWAUKEE -- The Alverno College Department of Athletics honored its teams and student-athletes from the 2016-17 academic year during the Alverno College Inferno Athletics Awards Program in Wehr Hall Friday evening.

Each of the seven varsity teams honored three student-athletes with the awards of Most Valuable Player, Most Improved Player, and Inferno Award.

Additionally, the department's major awards winners were honored.


Student-Athlete of the Year, Gabby Hood
Basketball student-athlete Gabby Hood was honored with the Inferno's top award for the 2016-17 season.

Hood was named to the All-Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference first team. She led the Inferno in scoring at 11.9 points per game and the junior point guard was second on the squad and ninth in the league in rebounding with a 7.5 per game average. Her 4.7 assists per game average was second in the conference, her six double-doubles were third in the league, while her 1.7 steals average was ninth.

The Racine, Wisconsin native set a new single-game school record with 13 assists in a win at Rockford University in February and broke the single-season record as she tallied 130 this season.


Newcomer of the Year, Michelle Alexander
Tennis student-athlete Michelle Alexander was honored as the top newcomer. 

The rookie finished NACC play with a 6-3 record mainly at No. 3 singles and the same 6-3 mark at No. 2 doubles in league action.

The Los Alamos, New Mexico native finished the season 12-11 overall in singles play and 11-14 in doubles for the Inferno tennis team which set a school record with 12 wins.


Faculty Scholar-Athlete Award, Amy Naborowski
Cross Country's Amy Naborowski (Roscoe, Ill.), a chemistry and math major, was honored with the Faculty Scholar-Athlete Award for her success in athletics, consistent academic excellence, and additional service contributions to the college or community at large.


Virginia Wagner Award, Katelyn Bartlett
Virginia Wagner, the former Associate Vice President for Student Services and Director for Compliance and Risk Services, is one of the founding supporters of the athletics program at Alverno and a charter member of the Athletics Hall of Fame. The Virginia Wagner Award is presented to a student-athlete whose commitment, leadership and community service made a positive impact on the Alverno College campus.

Katelyn Bartlett, a basketball and golf student-athlete, was honored with this season's award. The South Milwaukee, Wis. native exemplified leadership both on and off the court and course.


Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award, Laeren Yates
Sister Margaret Mary Martin was a pioneer in women's athletics and the chair of the Physical Education Department at Alverno. She was a faculty member from 1938-1971 and obtained two master's degrees during her time, a Master of Arts in history and a Master of Science in physical education. The Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award is presented to a person that contributes to the advancement of Alverno Athletics and is given at the discretion of the Director of Athletics.

This year's award winner was tennis student-athlete Laeren Yates (Green Bay, Wis.).


Leadership Award, Sam Korn
The Leadership Award is given to a student-athlete that has shown great initiative within her team and/or the Department of Athletics, continually developing and putting their leadership skills into action to better our programs.

This year's award winner was Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President and softball and volleyball student-athlete, Sam Korn.


Team Awards...

Most Valuable Player: Gabby Hood
Most Improved Player: Bailey Buffington
Inferno Award: Katelyn Bartlett

Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner: Amy Naborowski
Most Improved Runner: Samantha Laabs
Inferno Award: Leah Badke

Most Valuable Player: Katelyn Bartlett
Most Improved Player: Mariah Hightower
Inferno Award: Hannah Kelsey

Most Valuable Player: Sydney Wisner
Most Improved Player: Lidia Becerra
Inferno Award: Allison Weick

Most Valuable Player: Andie Vandertie
Most Improved Player: Kaitlynn Johnson
Inferno Award: Adria Bollendorf

Most Valuable Player: Brooke McBain
Most Improved Player: Maria Ochoa
Inferno Award: Laeren Yates

Most Valuable Player: Alyssa Reinke
Most Improved Player: Sam Korn
Inferno Award: Karissa Minster