Alverno Student-Athletes Honored At Athletics Awards Banquet

Alverno Student-Athletes Honored At Athletics Awards Banquet

MILWAUKEE -- The Alverno College Athletics Department honored its teams and student-athletes from the 2015-16 academic year during the annual Alverno College Inferno Athletics Banquet in the La Verna Commons Saturday evening.

Each of the seven varsity teams honored three student-athletes with the awards of Most Improved Player, Inferno Award and Most Valuable Player.

Additionally, the department's major awards winners were honored. These awards are the Student-Athlete of the Year Award, Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award, Virginia Wagner Award and Newcomer of the Year Award.

Student-Athlete of the Year: Asia Butler-Yeo, Tennis
Newcomer of the Year: Mackenzie Mathies, Basketball, Golf and Softball
Virginia Wagner Award: Neysel Powell, Soccer
Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award: Julie Gallegos, Basketball & Brooke McBain, Basketball


Student-Athlete of the Year, Asia Butler-Yeo
Tennis student-athlete Asia Butler-Yeo (Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin) was honored with the Inferno's top award for the second consecutive season.

The sophomore became the first Alverno student-athlete to receive the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference top honor, as she was named the NACC Co-Player of the Year in women's tennis. Additionally, she earned a spot on the All-NACC singles team for the second straight season and was again tabbed her team's MVP.

Butler-Yeo compiled a 16-4 singles mark -- 9-1 in league play -- in the top singles spot for the Inferno tennis team that tallied a school-record 11 wins (11-10, 6-4 NACC) and won the program's first postseason match in the NACC First Round.


Virginia Wagner Award, Neysel Powell
Virginia Wagner, the former Associate Vice President for Student Services and Director for Compliance and Risk Services, is one of the founding supporters of the athletics program at Alverno and a charter member of the Athletics Hall of Fame. The Virginia Wagner Award is presented to a student-athlete whose commitment, leadership and community service made a positive impact on the Alverno College campus.

Neysel Powell (Milwaukee, Wis.), a four-year student-athlete, was honored with this season's award. A senior captain of the soccer team, she exemplified leadership both on and off the field.


Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award, Julie Gallegos & Brooke McBain
Sister Margaret Mary Martin was a pioneer in women's athletics and the chair of the Physical Education Department at Alverno. She was a faculty member from 1938-1971 and obtained two master's degrees during her time, a Master of Arts in history and a Master of Science in physical education. The Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award is presented to a person that contributes to the advancement of Alverno Athletics and is given at the discretion of the Director of Athletics.

This year's award winners were basketball's Julie Gallegos (San Rafael, New Mexico) and Brooke McBain (Monroe, Wis.).


Newcomer of the Year, Mackenzie Mathies
Three-sport athlete Mackenzie Mathies (Weston, Wis.) was honored as the top newcomer. The rookie was a member of the Inferno's basketball, golf and softball teams.

She played in all 25 games for the Inferno basketball team (14-11, 11-9) and started in 16 contests. Named to the NACC All-Freshman Team, the Alverno guard averaged 8.2 points, 2.8 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game. She shot 32.7 percent from the 3-point arc and 81.0 percent from the free-throw line.

Mathies competed in five of the golf team's eight fall events and carded her best round in her final meet on September 25.

In softball, she appeared in 33 games for the Inferno (17-23, 8-14) at shortstop, second base, outfield and designated player. Mathies batted .368 with a .385 on-base percentage and tallied six stolen bases.


Team Awards...

Most Valuable Player: Brooke McBain
Inferno Award: Dani Hood
Most Improved Player: Katelyn Bartlett

Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner: Carina Jiminez
Inferno Award: Amy Naborowski
Most Improved Runner: Kailey Huba

Most Valuable Player: Jazmin Vazquez
Inferno Award: Katelyn Bartlett
Most Improved Player: Gabby Hood

Most Valuable Player: Sydney Wisner
Inferno Award: Neysel Powell
Most Improved Player: Dah Dah Poe

Most Valuable Player: Ashlie Rossi
Inferno Award: Sam Korn
Most Improved Player: Megan Hernandez

Most Valuable Player: Asia Butler-Yeo
Inferno Award: Laeren Yates
Most Improved Player: Lia Hutchins

Most Valuable Player: Melissa Weyand
Inferno Award: Danielle Schilawski
Most Improved Player: Cailey Jeske