Alverno Student-Athletes Honored At Annual Athletics Awards Banquet

Alverno Student-Athletes Honored At Annual Athletics Awards Banquet

MILWAUKEE -- The Alverno College Athletics Department honored its teams and student-athletes from this last academic year during the annual Alverno College Inferno Athletics Banquet in the La Verna Commons Saturday.

Each of the seven varsity teams honored three student-athletes with the awards of Most Improved Player, Inferno Award and Most Valuable Player.

Additionally the department's major awards winners were honored. These five awards are the Student-Athlete of the Year Award, Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award, Virginia Wagner Award, Faculty Scholar-Athlete Award and Newcomer of the Year Award.

Student-Athlete of the Year: Asia Butler-Yeo, Tennis
Newcomer of the Year: Asia Butler-Yeo, Tennis
Virginia Wagner Award: Erin Dulek, Softball
Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award: Amber Thomas, Soccer & Cali Trepp, Volleyball
Faculty Scholar-Athlete Award: Erin Dulek, Casey Scheibengraber, Amber Thomas, Cali Trepp

Student-Athlete of the Year & Newcomer of the Year, Asia Butler-Yeo
Tennis student-athlete Asia Butler-Yeo (Whitefish Bay, Wis.) was honored with the Inferno's top award, and top award for newcomers. 

In addition to her being named to the All-Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Singles Team and NACC Freshman of the Year, the freshman was named MVP of the tennis team (10-11, 5-5 NACC) which set a school record for wins and qualified for the NACC Tournament for the first time in program history.

Butler-Yeo went a school-record 18-3 at the Inferno's top singles spot, including a 9-1 record in league play. The 9-1 NACC record tied for first in the individual standings at No. 1 singles. She ended the season on a 13-match winning streak, which included a victory in the Inferno's first-round NACC Tournament dual match. She also went 10-11 in doubles play.

Virginia Wagner Award, Erin Dulek
Virginia Wagner is the Director for Compliance and Risk Services, former Associate Vice President for Student Services, one of the founding supporters of the athletics program at Alverno and a charter member of the Athletics Hall of Fame. The Virginia Wagner Award is presented to a student-athlete whose commitment, leadership and community service made a positive impact on the Alverno College campus. 

Erin Dulek (Rosholt, Wis.), a four-year student-athlete, was honored with this season's award. As an all-conference pitcher and senior captain of the softball team, she exemplified leadership both on and off the field.

Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award, Amber Thomas & Cali Trepp
Sister Margaret Mary Martin was a pioneer in women's athletics and the chair of the Physical Education Department at Alverno. She was a faculty member from 1938-1971 and obtained two master's degrees during her time, a Master of Arts in history and a Master of Science in physical education. The Sister Margaret Mary Martin Award is presented to a person that contributes to the advancement of Alverno Athletics and is given at the discretion of the Director of Athletics.

This year's award winners were soccer's Amber Thomas (Glendale, Wis.) and volleyball's Cali Trepp (Iron Mountain, Mich.).

Faculty Scholar-Athlete Award, Erin Dulek, Casey Scheibengraber, Amber Thomas & Cali Trepp
Dulek, Scheibengraber, Thomas and Trepp were honored with the Faculty Scholar-Athlete Award for their success in athletics, consistent academic excellence, and additional service contributions to the college or community at large.

Team Awards...

Most Valuable Player: Mollie Mikyska
Inferno Award: Julie Gallegos
Most Improved Player: Jennifer Totten

Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner: Jamie Hoernke
Inferno Award: Alli Weil
Most Improved Runner: Courtney Cornella-Carlson

Most Valuable Player: Ashleigh Sagat
Inferno Award: Katelyn Bartlett
Most Improved Player: Jillian Batty

Most Valuable Player: Brittany Carpenter
Inferno Award: Amber Thomas
Most Improved Player: Alex Bonikowske

Most Valuable Player: Ashlie Rossi
Inferno Award: Erin Dulek
Most Improved Player: Mary Kate Sulikowski

Most Valuable Player: Asia Butler-Yeo
Inferno Award: Charmaine Clark
Most Improved Player: Devin Bach

Most Valuable Player: Emily Ortner
Inferno Award: Cali Trepp
Most Improved Player: Melissa Weyand